Thirsting for a little common courtesy?

After being raised in a house where manners were a MUST, I find my self lost in a world of ‘NoBody Gives A Shyt’. I mean really, Nobody gives one flying f*** about the person bending over backwards for them. 

At 24, I like to think of myself as a giver, a helping hand to anyone in need and a growing monarch in my family. A position I gladly took on with the mind set “Our lives and talents are not our own, they are to be used in the uplifting of our fellow man”…. WELL CALL ME CRAZY. What I didn’t realize was that  most people don’t actually appreciate the help, in fact many don’t consider your out pouring of love, kind words, or free spare bed room for as long as they need  a helping hand at all and its simply because …. (drum roll please) THEY FEEL ENTITLED!!!! I mean after all, it is your job to help them, no no no no you don’t get paid but wtf else are you doing right?

Sigh… I know this sounds like I’m complaining and it makes you wonder, is my giving really all that sincere??? I’ve thought the same, and the truth is, yes it is. I, from the bottom of my heart  enjoy uplifting others and seeing them on their way in a better state. It’s in my blood, my father had us as children walking around the neighborhood giving dinners to those families that were less fortunate. My mother opened her doors to any and everyone that needed a place to rest. I fed the homeless every year with my church until I started my own non profit doing the same at 21. I Really do care!!! But with all that I can’t lie, it really sucks that most the recipients don’t care. And yea I guess I do want something in return, a little common courtesy. A simple “do you need anything?” “Can I help you with that?” and maybe even a little love. Because what  people forget is, most of the people giving, give because they’ve spent many days with nothing and no one and because of that, want to make a way for someone else to never have to feel the same… Ijs

Leave a Reply

